Early stages: zombie survival LARP (Wellington)

The most fun I’ve ever had crewing an event overseas was as a zombie in a semi-serious zombie apocalypse-style outdoor LARP set in the present day. There doesn’t seem to be anything like this in or near Wellington (where I live), though, so I’m seriously considering organising something myself.

Unfortunately, I’m new to this part of the process. So I’d really like to pick people’s brains about the whole idea.

First of all, does that sound like something people might go to? And if so, how many players and crew would you expect to sign up?

The current plan would be to make it an all-nighter on a weekend, i.e. from Saturday night to Sunday morning. I’m aiming to use the scout campsite at Wainuiomata if at all possible because it’s the only reliable place for outdoor LARPs I know of in the Wellington region. Do you have any comments on the format I’m planning or the site I’d like to use?

Where’s the best place to advertise an event other than here? I’m not on Facebook and don’t intend to sign up but are there other things you’ve found useful for your events in the past?

And last but not least, I won’t be able to do this on my own. I’ll need at least two more GMs during the event itself and would welcome any help with logistics, plot or gear. If that sounds like something you’d like to get involved in I’d love to meet you!

Any other questions or comments? Just post them here or PM me. I’ll be using this thread as the go-to place for discussion if this thing actually happens. (Fingers crossed!)

2 Likes

There a Wellington LARP Google group you could advertise on (nzlarps--wellington@googlegroups.com)

1 Like

I would be super keen to play or crew, I love zombies! I know that survival horror games at Hydra are always super popular, so there’s definitely a market for something like this.

If you’re not on fb the google group or posters at KapCon and Hydra + word of mouth are probably your best bet.

1 Like