Maintaining LARP weapons

What’s a good way to maintain / tidy up our ‘standard’ NZLARPs swords.
They look at lot like the ‘Ready for Battle’ swords on Paddywhack, but I don’t know what they’re made of (do they differ in terms of core, outer, and spray coat? I’m new to all this).

Specifically, I have one that is a bit sticky now, and has fluff on the blade because of this. It didn’t come off with just a warm water rub and I’m reluctant to blindly try detergent / solvents without knowing what’s safe for the material or might dissolve stuff.

So what would be good here?
Warm soapy water, and if that doesn’t work, what other cleaner might do?
And when that’s done, is there something I should spray on it / coat it with to protect it? I’m not certain why this one has got sticky and fluffy and other swords I see haven’t.
Thanks!

Silicone! Paddywhack sells it, but you can just buy a giant spray-can from the Warehouse (or probably the supermarket):

Spray it on, then wipe it round, and it will stop stuff sticking. Though there’s a limit to what it can do - I left a couple of champion swords in their bags for too long, and they’re now perpetually sticky and have fluff no matter how many times I spray them.

@Ryan_Paddy, any formal suggestions?

Hi Ged,

To start, LARP swords should always be dried off if they get wet, so I really do not recommend using warm water at all to rub it. If something is sticky and fluffy, it is already on the path to being worn out.

It is typical for silicone spray to be regularly applied to maintain a coating on the sword as latex is naturally very sticky, on top of ensuring it is never caked in mud or water for a long period as this erodes the material over time.