IRL Medical protocols at LARP

Hello all,

I’ve been mulling on some ideas for formal and informal protocols around IRL medical emergencies at LARP, we’ve been pretty lucky with something bad happening every 2-ish years or so and I’d like to get some things in place for when the next big bad happens.

For anyone who doesn’t know me, I’m a volunteer Ambulance Officer/EMT with St John, first aid tutor and event volunteer, this kinda thing is what I do.

Medic call- just like how we have standardised ‘Caution’ and ‘Time out’, I’d like it if an official, standardised ‘Medic!’ call was established for when someone is actually hurt. My intent is to reduce confusion- in games these days people are yelling everything from ‘First Aid!’ to ‘Healer!’ to ‘Doctor!’ and by having a standardised ‘Medic!’ call it lets the IRL medics tune out what they don’t need to listen for and tune in what they do need to hear. Medical people are used to all sorts of things going off in the background, having that standard call lets us know what to pay attention to and if we need to drop character and go or not.

First Aiders and Equipment- at the most recent incident, there were plenty of medical people but I was the only person who had gloves on me. For the safety of the medics (and the patient) I suggest that if someone is volunteering to be a medic at a game, for their own safety at minimum they need to organise to at least have gloves on them so that if something does happen on the other side of the camp they can at least put gloves on before they start treatment while the first aid kit is on it’s way.
-As an aside, I normally have gloves, some plasters and OTC pain relief in my bag/pouch at games, this tends to sort out most things.